Magic doesn’t rhyme with comfort!!

Most people love staying within their comfort zones, I am one of them. I have never liked changes, I never changed my haircut, I never went anywhere alone and I never took any risks. I guess the universe was furious and wanted me to explore, to risk and to live. The past few months have compelled me to open up the doors of my comfort zone and to step out. I am a BMM student and for those who don’t know anything about this course, let me tell you something. If you are a media student, you have to eradicate the word ‘Comfort’  from your dictionary. You have to talk to new people each day, you have to attend a hundred events and no, sick leaves do not walk here. I have been trying to get out of my comfort zone. I used to take a friend along with me every where I went. But since two months or so, I attend all the poetry and book reading sessions of various authors alone. I never simply listen to them, I perform too. I have been interacting more, going out more. It is hard to get out of the comfort zone but you cannot spend all your life being afraid. I find it difficult to talk to new people each day, to travel alone and to do the things I have always been afraid of but I am doing them. I wake up each day with a smile on my face because I know a new adventure awaits me. I am finally learning to live.I want you to step outdoors and do the things you have always wanted to do.I still am learning to take more risks, to explore more and to live the life I have always wanted to live.

c

Here are the five things you can do to move out of your comfort zone.

  1. Do not cancel plans

Do not cancel plans .Staying at home is good and you need to do it sometimes but unless you go out and interact, you are never going to get out of your comfort zone. If your friends wants to meet you on a weekend, don’t tell them you aren’t free. Go out, have fun and come home with nice memories.

2. Make a list of all the things you are afraid of

Do one thing every week that you have always wanted to. When you finally do it, tick it off the list. After a few months, start doing two scary things a week and keep making progress. This won’t make you happy in the beginning but I promise, you will feel much better when your list gets sh0rter.

3. Pick up a hobby

If you love reading or singing or dancing, start making time for these hobbies. This will not just make you happy but you will feel better about yourself and your life. If you are happy from within, you will not be as afraid as you usually are and you won’t have to fake a smile anymore. If you join some hobby classes then you will meet people who are as passionate as you are and you will start interacting more.  You can do what you love and get out of your comfort zone at the same time. Amazing, isn’t ?

4.Date yourself

Most people are scared to do things alone. If you love poetry, go for a poetry reading session alone. If you are interested in an event but your friends aren’t, go by yourself. This point may seem contradictory to the first point.Let me explain. It is necessary to interact more and to be with people you love. But it is also extremely important to be independent, to interact with strangers. So make plans and have fun with your friends but also learn to talk to strangers and to do the things you love.

5. Reward yourself

Don’t be too hard on yourself. If you fail, try again. Each time you do something you are scared of or try something you have always wanted to, reward yourself with a chocolate, hour long bath or anything you like.

I really hope this helped you and if you are trying to get out of your comfort zone like me, leave a comment. Maybe we can help each other become our best selves 🙂

c3

Leave a Reply

